

Victorian College of the Arts SECONDARY SCHOOL

2023 VCASS AWARDS







Principal's Award

Harvey de Koster WINNER

Ema Yandall Citizenship Award

Alia Ferdowsian WINNER

Lenton Parr Academic Award

William Poon Riley Hogan, Chaaya Sharma

NOMINATIONS:

WINNER Gabriella Disspain and Sienna Novak

Anne Woolliams Dance Award

Braelan Newman WINNER

NOMINATIONS:

Jessica (Jess) Smart and Bridget Stackpole

John Hopkins Music Award

Yemaya (Yemi) Maitri

NOMINATIONS:

Candice Buchanan, Harvey de Koster WINNERS Chiara Kelle and Liam Graham

Theatre Arts Award

Bethanie Matic Eva Tegart, Coco McCuaig

NOMINATIONS:

WINNER and Lily Moran

Dorothy Doicinov Visual Arts Award

WINNER

NOMINATIONS: Alia Ferdowsian Sienna Novak and Leo Loscher



Junior Academic Award | Year 7

Lim (Ky) Garland

WINNER NOMINATIONS: Victoria Akhramenko and Yan Cai

Junior Academic Award | Year 8

Vicky Zhu WINNER NOMINATIONS: Benjamin Makelainen and Chloe Lahood

Junior Academic Award | Year 9

Olivia Van Helsdingen

NOMINATIONS: Elanor Chang, Innes Thistleton and Maya Conn

Junior Academic Most Improved | Year 7

Sora (Sola) Takeda

NOMINATIONS: Quinten Kamupala

Junior Academic Most Improved | Year 8

Inam (Nami) Fridberg

NOMINATIONS: Vicky Zhu, Benjamin Makelainen, Ethan Nistor and Xueming (Mina) Gu

Junior Academic Most Improved | Year 9

Charlotte Withford



Senior Academic Award | Year 10

Eloise (Ellie) Isaac WINNER NOMINATIONS: Ella Tan and Ryan Black

Senior Academic Award | Year 11

Serena Zhang WINNER NOMINATIONS: Miro Davis

Senior Academic Most Improved | Year 10

Isaac Gardner

NOMINATIONS: Keira Lee, Ryan Black, Ella Tan, Desiree Li, Eliza McTaggart, Megan Tanga and Haoqing (Leo) Liu

Senior Academic Most Improved | Year 11

Chloe Johnstone

NOMINATIONS: Xavier Gibson, Chloe Nikolovski, Hugo Ernst-Russell, Zachary Medved and Imogen Handley

Senior Academic Most Improved | Year 12 Mackenzie (Macka) Hancock

NOMINATIONS: Sebastian (Sebi) Starr, Candice Buchanan, Yemaya (Yemi) Maitri and Harvey de Koster



General Mathematics Award

Grace Chen

Mathematical Methods Award

Ash Hennessy WINNER

Media Award

Natasha Nette

Biology Award

Maisy Lu WINNER

Chemistry Award

Hugo Ernst-Russell

History Award

Leo Loscher WINNER

Psychology Award

Sienna Novak

Philosophy Award

Chaaya Sharma WINNER

Health and Human Development Excellence Award

William Poon WINNER



The Literature Award

Sienna Novak

The Leviston Foreign Language Award

Dana Choi

English Award

Yael Greenberg WINNER Padraic (Paddy) Lum WINNER

The Visual Artist Award

Matilda (Tilly) Milewska

Drama Award

Erk Cadzow

2023 Music Awards



Senior Music Most Improved

Kami Castellanos-Krol

NOMINATIONS: Sebastian (Sebi) Starr, Riley Hogan, Oscar Edwards, Yael Greenberg, Mark Hartland Van Driel and Tom Protat

Junior Music Award

David Jones-Lerdprakun

WINNERS NOMINATIONS: Sophia (Sophie) Cowall and Ahra Kim

The Robert Salzer Voice Award

Liam Graham

NOMINATIONS: Sienna Couzens and Olivia Dacal

The Ian Harrison Composition Award

Chiara Kelle and Riley Hogan

WINNER 2nd Place: Candice Buchanan 3rd Place: Xavier Richardson NOMINATIONS: Liam Graham

Junior Music Most Improved

Ethan Nistor

NOMINATIONS: Biju Shimokawa, Sophia Arcinue, Inam (Nami) Fridberg and Elanor Chang

The Musicology Award

Yael Greenberg and Candice Buchanan

NOMINATIONS: Chiara Kelle, Riley Hogan and Yemaya (Yemi) Maitri

The Paul McConkey Brass Award

Yael Greenberg

NOMINATION: Sienna Couzens, Liam Graham and Arthur Lou

2023 Dance Awards



Junior Dance Most Improved

William (Will) Wiseman

NOMINATIONS: Lara Kafkis, Benson Flores, Chloe Petrovic and Christina Ivas

Senior Dance Most Improved

Dimitri Bregianis

WINNER

NOMINATIONS: Flynn Masterton, Giselle Mammone, Mikaylah Caracciolo, Jocelyn Wee, Mackenzie (Macka) Hancock and Hugo Ernst-Russell

Junior Dance Award

Milla Rigazzi

NOMINATIONS: Misa Titcher, Ella Eastoe and Elle Wootton

Junior Ballet Award

Misa Titcher

NOMINATIONS: Milla Ragazzi, Ebony Veitch, William (Will) Wiseman and Jasper Zajacek-Tieu

Senior Ballet Award

Darcy Donoghue

NOMINATIONS: Ashlinn McLean, Ella Tan, Molly Hughes and Jocelyn Wee

Junior Contemporary Dance Award

Christina Ivas

NOMINATIONS: Ella Eastoe, Nico Lundqvist and Misa Titcher

2023 Dance Awards



Senior Contemporary Dance Award

Ashton Smith

NOMINATIONS: Chantal Banks, Sharon Jiang, Martin Cohen, Ashlinn McLean and Braelan Newman

Junior Jazz Dance Award

Nico Lundqvist WINNER NOMINATIONS: Elle Wootton, Misa Titcher, Ally Gillespie and Sheydin Glynn

Senior Jazz Dance Award

Xavier Gibson

NOMINATIONS: Braelan Newman, Mishka Oehlers, Tawhia McMath, Alicia Wong and Mikaylah Caracciolo

Year 12 Dance Achievement Award

Braelan Newman

2023 Theatre Arts Awards



Theatre Arts Award Year 11 | Performance: Making and Creating

Sophia Grant WINNER NOMINATIONS: Enhui Cai, Phoebe Jackman and Gabriela (Gabi) Snook-Villalobos

Theatre Arts Award Year 11 | Performance: Interpreting and Presenting

Elsie Steele WINNER NOMINATIONS: Minka Lukey, Enhui Cai and Liliana Crismani





Visual Arts Year 11 Art Award: Concepts and Creation

Pin-Hsuan (Audrey) Ho and Freja Greulich

WINNERS

NOMINATIONS: Miro Davis, Isabella (Bella) Gardiner, Alicia Thienpaitoon and Xin Yuan (Sherry) Wang